The Catastrophist: il nuovo album dei Tortoise

“For The Catastrophist, the spark came in 2010 when the group was commissioned by the City of Chicago to compose a suite of music rooted in its ties to the area’s noted jazz and improvised music communities. Tortoise then performed those five loose themes at a handful of concerts, and ‘when we finally got around to talking about a new record, the obvious solution to begin with was to take those pieces and see what else we could do with them,’ says [the band’s John] McEntire. ‘It turned out that for them to work for Tortoise, they needed a bit more of a rethink in terms of structure. They’re all pretty different in the sense that at first they were just heads and solos. Now, they’re orchestrated and complex.’”

Uscirà il prossimo 22 gennaio, via Thrill Jockey, The Catastrophist, il nuovo album dei Tortoise. Nel disco compaiono anche le collaborazioni di Georgia Hubley degli Yo La Tengo su Yonder Blue e di Todd Rittman nella cover di Rock On di David Essex.
In attesa dell’uscita, la band ha inoltre condiviso il primo singolo, Gesceap.

I Tortoise saranno in Italia a febbraio e maggio:

19/2 Bologna – Locomotiv Club

20/2 Roma – Monk Club

21/2 Milano – Circolo Magnolia

21/5 Torino – Cap 10100

28/5 Brescia – Latteria Molloy

The Catastrophist tracklist:
01 The Catastrophist
02 Ox Duke
03 Rock On
04 Gopher Island
05 Shake Hands With Danger
06 The Clearing Fills
07 Gesceap
08 Hot Coffee
09 Yonder Blue
10 Tesseract
11 At Odds With Logic